Support Us

VIZE 97 Prize Board Meeting

A meeting of the Board of the VIZE 97 Foundation Prize will be held on Friday, 6 March 2009, to choose this year’s laureate. The Prize will be awarded for an eleventh time in 2009.

In the past, the Prize was presented to Karl Pribram, Umberto Eco, Robert B. Reich, Philip Zimbardo, Joseph Weizenbaum, Zygmunt Bauman, Stanislav Grof and Julia Kristeva. Czech laureates include Zdeněk Neubauer and Petr Vopěnka, both of whom becoming Members of the Board of this project after receiving the VIZE 97 Prize.

The Prize is always awarded on 5 October, on President Václav Havel’s birthday. The Prize ceremony tradition was established by Mrs Dagmar Havlová, Chairwoman of the Board of Trustees of the VIZE 97 Foundation, in 1999.